Jesus


image

Art Journal Note:

To create this page I used some chipboard letters to draw around, then I drew some ‘strings’ which is basically just loose lines in different random directions behind the letters to break up the background space into smaller sections. I then used a simple black rollerball pen, outlined the letters, and created some doodles and ‘zentangle’ style patterns in each section of the background.

Tip: you can easily learn how to do some of these patterns, known as ‘Tangles’! There’s a great resource available, with free ‘Tangle’ patterns at tanglepatterns.com. Each pattern has it’s own name, and very straightforward instructions can be found on the A-Z free library.

Some of the most effective patterns are really very easy when you know how to do them, step by step. (And there are also some very simple looking patterns that I just can’t get the hang of!) I have a little notebook that I use to copy some of the instructions to some of my favourite Tangles in, for future reference, and to practice in. It’s just a case of pick up a pen and have a go! It’s great fun, and really relaxing. I find it helps me to gently focus and reflect on a word or theme. 

Matthew 1 v 21

“…and you are to give him the name Jesus,

because he will save his people from their sins”.

An angel told both Joseph (Matthew 1 v 21) and Mary (Luke 1 v 31) individually that they were to call the coming baby ‘Jesus’. The name of Jesus – which is above all names – is significant and important.

It sums up the entire Gospel, the whole good news hinges on His very name.

Jesus saves His people from their sins.

If you could sum up the entire Christian faith, centuries of theology, every sermon ever preached, the entire Bible from Genesis to Revelation, every prayer ever prayed, and every redeemed heart’s praise in just one word, it is simply:

‘Jesus’

Heavenly Father, thank you and praise you for the precious gift of your beloved son Jesus, who gave his life to save his people from their sins. Thank you that by His stripes I am healed, and that in His death I have life.

In the mighty name of Jesus, the name above all names.

Amen.

(Thanks to Colin Flack for reminding me of this beautiful worship song recently, I can’t get it out of my head, or heart! Inspired this post today)

One thought on “Jesus”

Leave a Reply

