Clothed in His Righteousness

IMG_0737

Art Journal note:

For the background of this special page I used some lace that was left over from when my Mum made my wedding dress for me (quite some years ago now!). I wrote out the verses using a calligraphy pen, and also created a little pocket to tuck in a little prayer. 

I delight greatly in the Lord;

  my soul rejoices in my God.

For he has clothed me with garments of salvation

    and arrayed me in a robe of his righteousness,

as a bridegroom adorns his head like a priest,

    and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.

Isaiah 60 v 10

This passage gives us a wonderful picture of what it’s like, for us to be made right with God, to have all our sins completely forgiven and to be completely redeemed, restored and made blameless and perfect before God. This is nothing but the mercy of God, the grace He lavishes upon us. That he clothes us in brand new garments of salvation and wraps us in a robe of righteousness.  He dresses us like a bride or bridegroom. To me, this brings to mind words like Spotless. Unblemished. Perfect. Ornate. Exquisite. Adorned. Pure.

And Undeserved. Beloved. Chosen.

Mercy. Grace.

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.

2 Corinthians 5 v 17

We are made brand new in Christ, his blood covers all our sins, mistakes and failures.  Both the intentional sins where we make bad choices and give in to temptation, and also the accidental mess we make of things. God covers us with new, clean garments of salvation.

This is more than just a make-over, it’s a transformation. 

Don’t we behave differently when we are wearing our best clothes? We wouldn’t  do things like the gardening or cleaning the oven in our most expensive outfits.  Having been clothed in salvation, we should make every effort to resist the devil, to not give him a foothold, and to avoid sin in our lives. And come before God daily to examine our hearts and seek forgiveness. I long to really grasp the truth of this verse more deeply, and of what it means to be covered with his righteousness, as I want this truth to change me more and more each day.

A few months ago, I embroidered (very badly!) into my dressing gown the phrase ‘ He has wrapped me in the robe of righteousness’.  I love this simple little reminder to myself – first thing every morning when I wake up, as I wrap myself in my dressing gown, I am reminded that I am wrapped in the robe of righteousness. It gives me a great start to the day, to be mindful of all He has done for me.

Heavenly Father, thank you for your extravagant grace and tender mercy, that you have clothed me with garments of salvation, and wrapped me in a robe of righteousness, through Christ Jesus my Saviour. Thank you that I am a new creation in Him – the new has come. I rejoice in your salvation. That You, Almighty God, holy and righteous Creator of all things, should love me so, and extend to me this grace just amazes me.

In the name of Jesus, Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

